GUMmy Bear


When your first child is somewhat of a genius.. no really, he is… and reaches his milestones way before the books say he should, and he is a born bad sleeper (hey, ask Albert Einstein’s mother!), he sort of sets a precedent for his sibling. Liam had teeth by five months, walked before he was a year and could talk the hind leg off a donkey, albeit, it initially sounded like a mix between German / Punjabi and Gobbledygook.

We thought we’d be in for the same sort of exciting stuff with Hannah. When Hannah was four months old, the drooling started… I immediately got my spatula and flour out, anticipating baby’s first pancake for dinner! The incessant drooling continued, but still no pearly whites sprung forth. By month six, the drooling had abated, but each day I pried open her mouth, all I saw were gums, not a raised bump hiding a tooth below, no swelling, not even a mild temperature to indicate that SOMETHING was cooking! Doctor Google assured me that all was normal, that some babies only produce fine white china after 18 months – what! Not my child prodigy!

So here we are at nine months. How Hannah manages to gleefully chomp through fresh crunchy veggies, meat on the bone, plastic toys, bits of scrap metal she finds laying around – is beyond my understanding. I watch her and immediately see the resemblance she has to her grandpa – who also prefers chewing without his false teeth.

To me she is still a genius.. I mean how many babies with no teeth can crawl faster than an old lady can walk, how many nine month old babies can kung fu with their 2 year old brother and give as good as they get and really, how many toothless babies can look so absolutely gorgeous with a gummy grin that tugs on the “ol heart strings every time. A genius I tell you.

I’ve been told that it’s better for milk teeth to come out later, as this means that permanent teeth will follow later, last longer and be stronger. So we’ll enjoy our princess as she is right now, who says GUMmy bears can’t have pancakes anyway.

