Nightmare on Van Dalen Street


Nightmare on Van Dalen Street 

So last night, I was awoken by loud screams coming from Liam’s room. Now as I have blogged before on Liam’s sleeping (or lack thereof), you all know the history on how slumber isn’t one of Liam’s fortes.

My first reaction was to volt out of bed with the finesse of an experienced night crawler (I mean I have been doing this for 2 years now, I’m GOOD at it). I then realised that this scream was different to any other I had heard before, so that set my ticker racing a bit. He appeared to be asleep, tossing and turning, his brow was damp with sweat and as I reached out to him, his bulbous  eyes shot open and he wailed “Kitty, the naughty kitty’s watching Barney. ” Oookkkk, um, I stopped mid-soothe, not sure what to say? A part of me was thrilled, my boy’s first nightmare, yay! I wanted to race out to get my camera, take a picture to remember this moment forever, wake Dad up and pour a round of milk for everyone! I also wanted to laugh out loud; OF COURSE, our favourite dinosaur (who deserves a blog all to himself, watch this space) would take centre stage in Liam’s first bad dream. Furthermore, my heart tugged at this poignant moment, there he was, arms wrapped so tightly around my neck I could hardly breathe, his little body still experiencing aftershocks from the terror of it all and I just wanted to smother him in kisses and make it all better. ALL THESE EMOTIONS IN THE MIDDLE OF THE NIGHT – its true a mother’s work is never done, not even in the midnight hours! 

So we had a quick one-on-one, blow-by-blow account; he – explaining how naughty the kitty was, I – making the necessary clucks that a mother hen should in this sort of situation. I gave him his bottle, tucked him in again, kissed him goodnight and slowly inched towards the door. I made it as far as my bed, before I heard the first murmur, I had just laid my head down when I heard “mama”. I took my pillow, bid the husband farewell and stomped back to the other man in my life’s bed. Still looking forlorn, he made space on his single bed for me, then proceeded to snuggle up so close, I felt like I had a second skin. Nevertheless, the feeling of his heart beat regulating to a normal pace, against my arm, made me smile in the dark. If it was luminous, you would have seen the invisible “S” for SuperMom glowing on my chest.

