While the Mummy’s Away…


I won’t lie, I’m scared. Maybe not scared, I’m a bit anxious. Even anxious may be too strong a word… ok I’m slightly nervous. I’m going away on a work related conference for two nights, three days, 72 hours, approximately 4320 minutes and a whole lot of seconds – that’s a long time to be away from my babies, my husband and my bed. So this is the “before” entry, and when I get back from my trip, I’ll conclude with an “after” entry. It’s not the first time I have been away from Liam or my husband – Liam has been to Durban to spend time with his grandparents, and I was away from my hubby when I went home to spend time with my parents, whilst on maternity leave. It is however, the first time I’ll leave little Hannah and it will be the first time that I am apart from all three of them simultaneously! 

I’ve tried to be as rational as possible about my upcoming departure , I’ve made only a few lists and timetables for the caregivers to follow in my absence. I’ve secretly keyed in all the emergency numbers into my hubby’s phone, I’ve laid out clothes and marked them per day for the kids, with extra “going out clothes” in case an excursion pops up. I’ve cooked and frozen a variety of foods for baby girl – as her palette as become especially pernickety, and she won’t eat just anything. I’ve had long talks with Liam about Mummy going away for a little while, he thinks it’s quite a joke – wait until you have to face Daddy in the middle of the night, son! I’ve prepped Zoleka to be on standby in case Dad needs an extra pair of hands. And last but not least, I have brought in extra reinforcements – GRANNY. Rational right? 

I must admit that I feel more comfortable knowing that Granny will be there. Even if it means, all the rules will be broken – they’ll eat way too many sweets, they’ll stay up past bed time, they’ll creep into bed with Gran, they’ll be allowed to jump on the bed and stay in the bath until their fingers and toes turn prune-y, they’ll forget to brush teeth (gums in Hannah’s case) and they’ll harass Granny to the point where she won’t be able to pee without a nosy parker staring up at her – it’s ok, because they’ll be happy and well taken care of and Granny will get a big chocolate for her trouble. 

I am going to try and enjoy this time away – lavish sleeping in a big bed ALL BY MYSELF, sleeping for longer than 4 hours at a time, being able to eat a meal HOT and at a normal pace. Oh! Lay in a bath until MY skin turns prune-y, go to the toilet, close the door and know I won’t have my entire family banging down the door to ask me where the tv remote is (I don’t even have time to watch tv, how would I know?) or have Liam show me a booger that he just pulled out of his nose, or have Hannah crawl right up to me to be picked up WHILE I sit on the John. The more I think about it, the more I can’t wait to pack my bags! Watch this space to see how it all panned out!

