On the first day of Christmas…


So today is the first day of my holiday and I thought I’d jot down a few pointers to serve as a reminder for next year, when submitting my leave form, to take leave as close to Christmas as possible. Or not to take any at all. It seems I have more rest at work, than I do when I’m on holiday. So to sum up today’s activities…

I got up at the crack of dawn to wrestle with my hair. You see tonight is our annual Christmas dinner with special friends, and the last thing you want to do, is pitch up looking like you’ve had a rough day. You’ve got to make all this mothering, home-making, Christmas shopping, gammon-cooking and being nice to your mother in law, look like a walk in the park, when in fact, it feels like I’ve been ridden over by a taxi…twice. Sorry I digress, so I got up early to wash, blow and iron my hair. This in itself is no mean feat. It leaves me feeling sweaty and annoyed at God for not giving me straight hair. Thankfully the hubby and kids had gone to the airport to fetch MIL (mother in law). Then I rushed downstairs to start my pots as I had offered to make a roast gammon with veggies as part of tonight’s dinner. Enter hubby, kids and MIL. We exchanged pleasantries on how to cook a gammon, how to clean house and how to look after the kids… you know… the usual things that one discusses with one’s MIL. Then off to the shops we dashed. Zoleka, my hero, watched the pots and cleaned house while we were out. And as much as I wanted to leave the kids with her too, I really didn’t want to spoil this poor lady’s life by doing that to her, not on her last day of work for 2011 (this scares me a bit, what will I do without my Zoleka for almost 3 weeks?). So off we went.

As if I haven’t learned that shopping with children is a nightmare, I thought I’d do it one more time, slap bang in the middle of the holidays when the malls are positively heaving with Santa’s little helpers blowing their 13th cheques, just for kicks. MIL decided she wanted to buy us our gifts on this trip too, but I politely declined, as I would be damned if I chose a candle holder just to choose SOMETHING so we could get the hell up out of there… I want to browse and discuss the budget before choosing my gift… hello? Right so after a good few hours at the shops, we came home to a delicious smell wafting through the house. Gammon was cooked, I glazed that baby and popped her back in the oven to roast. Got stuck into the side dishes AND had to make dinner for the kids, MIL and Zoleka…which was the least I could do considering they were staying behind while we traipsed off to a party that was going to be legendary, no doubt. Then hubby and I had to go back to the shops to collect our deep freezer because we refused to pay the R250 delivery fee when we live about 500 metres from the shop. THE deep freezer which I have been begging for since about 1948. Yay, at last I can buy in bulk and FREEZE! But my deep freezer deserves it’s own blog post so that is all I will say about that… except that my back is now broken as hubby and I had to physically lift this massive piece of machinery from the car to it’s spot in the house. You have to wonder if the back pain is worth the R250?

Then a moment’s relief as we filled the plastic pool and let the kids frolic. Just a side note.. have you noticed that if your feet are cool, it sort of cools your whole body down? I felt quite refreshed after dipping my feet in the cool water, and ready to tackle my next task. Gift wrapping for tonight’s do. Quite a task when you have two todders asking you millions of questions relating to who’s gift is this, where’s mine, why did you buy that funny present (eek, hope the recipient doesn’t think so?), when will you be finished, I want to pee, etc, etc, etc.

Which brings me to now… Five minutes to post this blog, before I put the finishing touches to my dishes, bath the kids, hop in the shower and make myself pretty. I swear if the rest of my holiday is as tiring as today was, I am going to phone my boss and beg him to retract my leave application.

HAPPY HOLIDAYS EVERYONE!

 

One thought on “On the first day of Christmas…”

  1. Oh my heavens! That sounds like one seriously busy day!
    Sometimes I wonder why we make Christmas so damn complicated and stressful for ourselves!

Leave a Reply

