Ode to the year that was…


I wish I had something insightful and judicious to say on this the last day of the year 2011. But the truth is, I don’t. I wanted to wax lyrical about how time flies and how we should reflect on the year that was and learn from our mistakes and endeavour to make 2012 the best year yet, but that would just sound like a worn out cliché. So instead, I’ve decided to look at some (and by no means all) of the amazing things that have happened during the year, to reminisce on how much fun I had with my kids, my family and my friends. I can’t possibly relate every event, every smile, every warm feeling I experienced over the last 365 and a quarter days, but here are a few which bring a smile to my lips when I think about them, even now…

Liam sleeps through the night … for good.

Really, this is big for us. We spent the whole of 2009 and 2010, sleepless in Gauteng. As you know from previous blog posts, Liam was awake more than he was asleep during his first two years; he slept for an hour at a time, two hours if we were lucky. We thought it would never end; we were exhausted, disheartened and irritated, even though we had accepted that our child just had an extreme dislike for sleep and no sleep training could crack his code. Then somewhere in the middle of 2011, Liam just started sleeping like a “baby.” All night. I think I’d go as far as to say that this could have been the highlight of my year. Liam now sleeps like the proverbial dead: through thunder storms, through his Dad yelling at the TV during a soccer game, through Hannah’s teething tantrums in the middle of the night – his code was finally cracked in 2011!

Hannah learns to walk…

Your children reach many amazing milestones, each probably as important as the next in terms of development. But there’s just something about watching your baby take his or her first steps. I’m not sure why? Surely getting teeth is as important, if your kid plans on eating a big juicy steak one day? Surely the art of learning new words is as important, because communication is key in the game of life. But learning to walk… watching your baby take that huge leap from crawling to walking, is like watching a miracle unfold. Those fat juicy thighs, those chubby little toes, those aeroplane arms as they flap to help them balance, and the delight on their faces as they realize they can transport themselves on two legs, instead of all fours. It’s just priceless. Hannah walked on her first birthday. She had been threatening to walk for a while, but on the night of her birthday, she took her first steps unassisted. I remember exactly what she was wearing, down to her sparkly Hello Kitty shoes. I remember the look on her face, the look on Liam’s face! A beautiful moment.

Granny and Pa move out of the family home…

Yes, my parents moved out of the home I grew up in, the only home I knew. But more so than this, it made me realize and value the wonderful childhood I had had, and how I want to instill this in my own children’s lives. It’s not about the physical building, but rather the home which is where the heart is. I want my children to know their grandparents and the aunts and uncles and cousins. I want them to understand the importance of family; no matter how near or far we are from each other. I want them to remember important people’s birthdays and call them or send a gift if we can, because that shows your appreciation for that person, and there is nothing more important than placing value and respect on others, it does wonders for you, and for that person. I had a revelation about family in 2011; we need to love the other person, for the other person’s sake. It’s not always easy, but it’s always worth it. We can make lots of money, we can live in fabulous houses and drive fancy cars, we can move across the world to give ourselves a better life, but these things will not ever fill the void that only the love for and of other people can.

I turned 30…

No big deal, age ain’t nothing but a number, right? But with age, comes wisdom, and perhaps on such a big birthday, God grants you a double dose! Not mental wisdom, because we all know, I could do with bucket loads of that! But the Divine wisdom that brings you peace and understanding. I’ve learned to accept that there are some things that I can’t change, that there are some people that I will never be able to change (read husband),  and that there are thorns that will always be in my side, that will never leave me no matter what sorts of mental surgery I undergo. But that’s ok, because I’ve learned that change starts from the inside, and that rather than trying to change everyone else, I should start to change myself, and you’ll be amazed at how by changing yourself, it somehow changes everything else – positively.

My online diary to my children begins…

The greatest thing I have done in my life, is mother these two children of mine. The two greatest gifts I have received from God. And my greatest gift to them, will be this online journal of their lives – our lives. When I started blogging, I did so with the sole intention of writing about the kids, and their day to day accomplishments and disappointments and milestones and all the other by-the-way sort of things that happen in the life of a child. But the more I write, the more I see that this is as much for me, as it is for them. Every mother will tell you how fast they grow, how time flies, how quickly they grow out of your lap, and these memoirs will forever remind me of this time when they were small enough for kisses and hugs; small enough for me, their mother, to make everything better again; this time when I was their everything and they were my all… and always will be.

Happy New Year everyone, I pray that the best of your 2011, will be the worst of your 2012. To my babies and the love of my life, I look forward to all the amazing things we will discover together in 2012. xxx

4 thoughts on “Ode to the year that was…”

  1. Wow! You’ve had an awesome year!! May the one ahead be filled with memories that you will share with your grandkids one day… with lots of laughter and perhaps a tear or two! God’s blessings in 2012… much love always xxx

  2. ☀̤̣̈̇ː̖́Hː̗̀☀̤̣̈̇ː̖́Aː̗̀☀̤̣̈̇ː̖́Pː̗̀☀̤̣̈̇ː̖́Pː̗̀☀̤̣̈̇ː̖́Yː̗̀☀̤̣̈̇ː̖́
    ☀ ː̗̀☀̤̣̈̇ː̖́Nː̗̀☀̤̣̈̇ː̖́Eː̗̀☀̤̣̈̇ː̖́Wː̗̀☀̤̣̈̇ː̖́ ☀
    ː̗̀☀̤̣̈̇ː̖́Yː̗̀☀̤̣̈̇ː̖́Eː̗̀☀̤̣̈̇ː̖́Aː̗̀☀̤̣̈̇ː̖́Rː̗̀☀̤̣̈̇ː̖́
    \ | | /
    \ \ | / /
    \ | | /
    \ \ | / /
    \ | | /
    ████████
    Wish you all the best in 2012

Leave a Reply

