A love letter to my 3 year old


Dear Liam

” There is an enduring tenderness in the love of a mother to a son that transcends all other affections of the heart “

Today you celebrate your 3rd birthday. I cannot believe how fast these last three years have gone, as you told me this morning, you are almost a man! You have brought so much joy into our home, but more especially, into my heart. My son who I waited so long for. My son whom I love so fiercely. My wish for you today is that you will always be as juvenile, as playful, as loving, as giving and as caring as you are right now. A little boy, with a heart and mind wise beyond your years. You are so perceptive, you know exactly when I’m troubled or angry. And amazingly, you always know just what to say to make me smile – even if it is with an armpit fart. Thank you for letting your light shine wherever you go, you endear people to you in a way that just amazes me. You are the apple of my eye. One day I hope you will realise the importance and the greatness that your little life plays in mine. For without you, I don’t think I would have been me. You fit a piece of my puzzle so perfectly, that I am not sure how I existed before you were born. I love everything about you down to the funny way your toe nails grow, how you curl up right into my armpit before bedtime, how you love to tell me how much you love me. Under your rough and tumble exterior, lays a wonderfully delicious baby boy who I still love to cuddle with. I thank God that He made you for me, and I promise to always do my best for you. 

You were so excited this morning! You kept showing us how old you were on your fingers – DREE YEARS OLD! You ripped through the gift wrap and your eyes shone as you opened your gifts. You belly laughed as we sang to you and politely said thank you to everyone who called to wish you a happy birthday. You wore your 3 YEAR OLD badge from Granny with pride, and you dashed through the school gate to tell your teachers it was your birthday. But everyone already knew, and I can only suspect that that was because you’ve been harping on about your birthday since Christmas! Which is fine, because that’s what birthdays are for. It’s a celebration of your life, it’s a celebration of who you are. So here’s to you my darling, may God be the centre of your life, as you are the centre of mine. I want to cherish every day with you, before I have to share you with another woman! And even though we fight and we both can’t stand to look at each other sometimes, know that my love for you far supersedes the threats and the smacks I sometimes have to administer.

I hope you have a wonderful birthday my precious boy, filled with all the good things that make your heart happy.

Assuring you of my constant pride and affection,

Mom xxx

6 thoughts on “A love letter to my 3 year old”

  1. Aah Mom! What a wonderful letter to your precious boy… Who is precious to us all! Here’s to many, many, many more years for Liam John Richen!! Love you xxxx

  2. Absolutely heartwarming Robyn,this is a beautiful elaboration of what life and love for a son is!u r blessed!Happy Birthday Liam 🙂 u sound amazing!may ur light shine in2 d wrld.

Leave a Reply

