Weekend Round Up


Here’s our weekend in bullet points: 

  • On Friday night Liam and I went to church, while Hannah and Daddy stayed home. Church was awesome, Pastor Wilma shared on “the gift that keeps on giving” and how special it is to give meaningful gifts and gifts that will bless the receiver not only once, but over and over again. A simple example being a pot plant that will bloom over and over again if well looked after, as compared to a bunch of flowers (not that there’s anything wrong with getting a beautiful bunch of flowers of course!). Jesus was a gift from God – a gift that keeps on giving, as more and more people come to know him every day, even over two thousand years later. We each received a stunning black shopper, with the Sisters logo emblazoned on it. That night, as I tucked Liam into bed, he grabbed my cheeks in his hands and said “tomorrow, you are going to buy me a dog, ok goodnight mommy.” I’m not sure where that came from, as we hadn’t been discussing dogs or pets or anything related, and the complete conviction with which he said it, made me burst out laughing. I explained, as I had explained a million times before, that we’d only get a dog once we moved to our new house. He was ok with that and went to bed.
  • On Saturday, everyone slept until the sun came out, which is pretty late considering that the winter sun has started to rise much later these days. We hurried to get the family dressed and fed because I wanted to be first in line for the clinic at Dischem. Hannah needed her second flu shot, Liam needed his first and I needed my “baby-prohibiting-shot.” While on the topic of the flu injection… Hannah has yet to have a runny nose, a cough, or any other cold/flu like symptoms, even though Liam has come home with his second mild cold this season – Hannah usually catches every bug that bites Liam at school. Now I am not willing to say that the flu jab works just yet, as I’ll leave that judgement for the end of the winter season, but the first few signs are promising. I am just mad that Liam missed the first dose because he was on antibiotics at the time, and this has set him back a bit. Liam cried like a girl, while Hannah was yelling “solly(sorry) Liam!” And then I did what any mother would do when their kid is causing a scene in a shop, I took them to the kids aisle and let them go wild, because of course it’s easy to cave and just buy them something, rather than trying to shut them up in the shop. We left with Barney face cloths, Barney bubble baths, shampoos and body washes. When the hubby tried to give me a lecture about giving into the children every time they make a peep, I plugged my fingers into my ears and started singing loudly to drown him out – I am not stupid, of course I KNOW that, but sometimes we do what works, not what’s right.We spent the rest of the afternoon, trying to get some winter shopping done for the kids. That experience deserves a blog post all on its own. We took them to the park for an hour to let off some steam, an hour I spent swinging on the swing. I wouldn’t even get off for the little kids who were waiting for a turn. I made Liam jump off every time a little kid appeared to be waiting. It was good fun. The hubby made a delicious dinner of stuffed chicken, baby potatoes and a mushroom sauce with ciabatta bread on the side. Carbs, glorious carbs! We tossed a coin to decide on who got to do the bath and bed  routine – I won. So I spent Saturday night watching two movies, one being City of Angels, remember that movie? Still makes me sad!

     

  • On Sunday we went to church and onto Papachinos for lunch. I’m not sure what was better, the bacon and cheese nachos followed by my seafood pasta, or not seeing my kids for close on 3 hours except for the odd check in for a bite of pizza or a sip of juice. Seriously, I have developed this deep emotional attachment to Papachinos, so much so that I want to make a monthly booking in advance for the last Sunday of every month, because they get so busy and unless you have a reservation, you can wait up to an hour to get a table. This way, I’ll know I have a standing date with Papa’s. We got home and I had a nap while the kids played outside and the hubby assumed his favourite position for a Sunday afternoon – in front of the TV watching the English Premier League. My mom arrived this morning, so I spent some time changing the linen, making space in the cupboard for her clothing, spraying my fabulous room spray from the African Pride Hotel group (thanks to our wonderful rep who always drops off these special goodies for us!). Last night I washed Hannah’s hair with my fabulous new products which I received last week (I need to blog about this too) and everyone was in bed early after a full and busy weekend.

 The next few weeks are going to be awesome! My mom is here, my sister and her family arrive next week, as does my dad. I’ve taken some time off work during the Easter break and I can’t wait to unwrap the red ribbon and gold bell off my Lindt bunny. Happy Monday, ya’ll. xxx

One thought on “Weekend Round Up”

  1. Hahaha! You’ve had a fabulous weekend! Love how you swang… And carbo-loaded! Lol! And love Liams imagination and Hannahs little heart! Can’t wait to see them… Solly- and you! Lol xxxx

Leave a Reply

