GO TO THE PRINCIPAL’S OFFICE!


My worst nightmare has come true. My son is a delinquent. Oh the shame of it all. He will need help and lots of it.  I will have to start on a recovery plan… a rehabilitation of sorts…

Last week, Liam was sent to the dreaded office. He was the one who told me about the incident, but he wouldn’t explain WHY he had been sent to the office. When I collected him from school, his teacher said “woah, Liam was on a roll today.” I know when she says this she means that Liam gave her a particularly um, “busy” day. Liam explained on the way home that he was sent to the office because he did something disrespectful. Well it was the first time I had heard him use that word, that’s quite a mouthful for a 3 year old, so I first congratulated him on that, and then I remembered I was supposed to be in stern-mom-mode. He wouldn’t budge and I left it.

Later in the bath, he opened up and explained that he had clicked his tongue at Teacher Maria, who is the teacher’s assistant. The way he tells the story is that he was busy making a wee, Teacher Maria came into the bathroom with a group of the babies who were being potty trained. She asked him to get done quickly so she could see to the little ones, and he told her that he was still busy. She told him to hurry along. He then clicked his tongue in annoyance at having been rushed to make a wee. *bless* Teacher Maria said something along the lines of that not being very nice, and that he should go and tell his teacher what he had done. Teacher reprimanded him and sent him to the principal’s office.

The principal explained that it was rude and disrespectful to click your tongue at adults, and sent him on his way. I concurred with the principal (in trying to keep a united front and all that) and told him that clicking of tongues was really not the nicest thing to be doing. Of course he retorted with the statement that every toddler will use on his/her mother at least a few hundred times in their toddler years: “but YOU do it.” Sighh. Of course he was right, but I quickly used my trump card and explained that mommies and daddies are allowed to do MANY things that children are not allowed to do and that children are just supposed to LISTEN to what their parents tell them to do because I am the boss of you (ok, I said it more eloquently than that). And then he stated very seriously that when he is a “person” one day, he is going to click his tongue ALL the time. He means when he is an ADULT. I said “my boy, when you have your own children one day, clicking your tongue will become part of your vernacular.” He looked at me quizzically.

Throughout this whole ordeal, I found it very difficult to keep my p.p.p.p.p.poker face. I wanted to laugh out loud but I did my best to play along and show my complete disappointment at him being sent to the office. I chatted to the principal the next day and we giggled in her office when she told me how horrified he was to be in her office, poor boy! He apparently explained the story to her with very big eyes.

So while my son is not a delinquent, nor does he need any sort of therapy related to this incident, he has officially walked the plank to the principal’s office for the first time. And the last, I hope!

2 thoughts on “GO TO THE PRINCIPAL’S OFFICE!”

  1. Is that what they send you to the Principal for these days? Oh my! I should be sending about 15 a day then! Poor Liam! And its actually your fault, cause he learned it from you!!! Lol! Just wait until he’s a person, he’s gonna click at you!!! Lol xxxxx

Leave a Reply

