Home, sweet home…


I cannot tell you how long I’ve waited to write this post. I’ve even had a script in my head about what I would say and how I would say it. But now that the time has finally come, I don’t have any words! I just feel relief and happiness and that Christmas eve excitement about what the future holds. We have finally found our dream house 🙂

A few weeks ago, my mom sent me a link to a property; now given that my mother was sending me approximately 14 links a day, most of which I had either seen or did not fit our requirement, I wasn’t exactly jumping up and down when I first spotted this house. Something drew me to it all the same so I set up a viewing with the agent. I noticed the house was advertised by three different agents – all of whom I knew on a first name basis due to the sheer number of houses we had looked at. I chose to go with the agent who was advertising the house at the cheapest price… sneaky sneaky. I went alone, I liked the house A LOT and forced my husband to go and take a look when he had time during his work day. Long story short, he loved the place too and we set up yet another viewing to fine-tooth comb the property. It needs very little work, in fact the only thing that I would change is the kitchen, over time, when we can afford to, because it’s not the magnificent kitchen I imagined my dream home to have, but it’s functional and will do just fine for the foreseeable future. But I do love that one wall is completely windowed, and looks out onto the garden and I imagine myself cooking a hearty meal for my family, while I watch my kids play in the garden, with our golden retriever who doesn’t exist yet  (cue soppy music, birds tweeting and hazy In.sta.gram picture quality). Everything else is almost perfect. If anyone knows me, they know I would have been an investigative journalist or a PI in another life. I ask questions, I like to get to the bottom of things, I like to feel secure that the knowledge I have is as close to the truth as I can possibly get it. So I started my investigations by first interviewing the family who were selling the house, then I pulled the police records I could find, read archives of the local area newspaper, I made my hubby drive around the neighbourhood a few times, and just recently I’ve started to look into schools. When I was satisfied with my findings, and my husband was tired of my poor impersonation of Sherlock Holmes, we finally put in an offer. Which takes us to last week Wednesday, when the seller accepted our offer, which takes us to yesterday when our bond was approved. Which takes us to today, where I am so deliriously happy that I’m already planning the roof wetting. Of course, the road ahead is still long and hard, involving lawyers and transfers and the deeds office and more money than we actually have in our bank accounts, however I am confident that all will fall into place eventually.

The most amazing thing is that when I look back, with the beauty of hindsight, I see how God has been working behind the scenes to get us to this point. And I am so utterly grateful for all the prayers that were offered up, by many people including family, friends and our church. God’s promises are YES and AMEN and to be a front row spectator to the miracles He is performing in our lives, is absolutely incredible.

We still have many weeks before we can call this house OURS, and I don’t mean to put the cart before the “house”, but I do feel so blessed and almost wound up at the prospect of finally having a house to call home. So without further ado, I will be framing pictures, choosing colour swatches, finding the cheapest quotes for handmade curtains and most importantly calculating my new shoe space for when we eventually get to move into our dream home.

And I am convinced and sure of this very thing, that He Who began a good work in you will continue until the day of Jesus Christ [right up to the time of His return], developing [that good work] and perfecting and bringing it to full completion in you. Phil 1: 6 – 8 AMP

3 thoughts on “Home, sweet home…”

  1. Um… How’s some of the magic prayer stuff since it works so well… the search is on again!!! Oh ya and CONGRATS!!!! So happy for you because I know that a very heavy burden has been lifted off your shoulders – way to go God!!!

  2. Now remember this, when things don’t go your way, the reason is that God has something better in store for you, something that He knows is just right for you! Trusting that all will work out well, and when I’m in Jozi again, I’ll be visiting in your new HOME!! Congratulations! God is faithful! Xxxxx

Leave a Reply

