Dear Big Liam and Big Hannah #2


So one day you will decide what you want to do with the rest of your life in order to make a living every month. By this I mean you will need to eventually get a job to afford all the things you will need and all the things you would just like to have, because mom and dad will soon cut the purse strings. I do hope that the thing you eventually end up doing for money, will be something that you love to do and that your 9 – 5 will not be a grind, but sometimes it doesn’t always work out that way.

My advice for choosing a career goes something like this. Do what you love. The end. There is nothing worse than being stuck in a job that you hate, because it really will affect every aspect of your life. Work is worse than school, in that you spend like 90% of your natural life there. At least at school you get tea and lunch breaks and the odd detention where you can just relax and unwind. Work is a place you go five (sometimes six) days a week and if it’s not a place you enjoy going to, it can make your life a misery. So it is a decision that requires a lot of thought and prayer. I will support you in whatever it is you decide to do, although I must admit that I’d prefer you to go with a more stable career, rather than joining a circus or busking at an underground station for loose change. I believe in the value of education, this coming from someone who is yet to complete her degree, but I do believe that your attitude, your determination and your will to “make it” will far more determine your success. Be passionate about what it is you are doing – at work and at play – and while the outcome is the sweetest victory (a corner office with a great view / travelling the seven seas until you start to grey), don’t forget the joy in the journey which leads you to your destination (the people you meet along the way, the experiences you enjoy/suffer while you travel).

Your dad and I opted to travel the seven seas, rather than continue our formal education after high school. I can’t say that not having completed my tertiary education has negatively impacted me, neither your Dad, but I do think that studying whatever you decide and getting it out of the way is a surefire way to know that you have something to fall back on if all else fails and my hope for you is that “all else” will NEVER fail, but sometimes life throws you a curveball and I simply think that it’s better to be prepared, right? Right.

Liam, at the tender age of three you want to be a chef some days and a driver other days. If you continue in this vein, I hope that you will be a world renowned chef and perhaps a driver of an aeroplane? That will make mommy very happy. I think you would do well in a courtroom because you have such strong negotiating skills. You are left-handed and I wonder if this means you will be more creative? I see it in you already – you love to colour, draw, paint and build and your thinking is always so out of the box! Hannah, currently your career choices lean toward being a dancer or a singer – hmm joining a circus may be on your horizon. I’m kidding baby! You are far too young to be making such decisions.. for both of you, whatever you decide and wherever life leads you, I just want you to be happy. I will support you (begrudgingly if you do decide to join a circus) in whatever you decide to do.

Can I ask that you don’t make money your main goal in life? Make a budget and stick to it, then everything will be ok. DO NOT get sucked into the credit whirlwind, if you can’t afford something and mom and dad can’t help you, then SAVE. Unfortunately in life, you will have to take SOME things on credit.. like buying a house or buying a car but don’t make bad debts, budget for these things and be a good payer. We all want more money, want nice things and want bigger and better. But always consider what you WANT versus what you NEED, ok?

Go out there and be amazing, only you have the power to make yourself happy or sad, or to go big or go home… and please believe me, there is nothing wrong with going home sometimes. My prayer is that in all things, you will use Godly wisdom and common sense, because sense actually isn’t common so I have to pray that you at least exercise common sense when deciding what you want to be when you’re all grown up. Remember that nothing is ever as complicated as it seems at the time, you always have a choice, and you can always change your mind.

Love you babaloos

Xxx

Mom

Leave a Reply

