If music be the food of love, play on…


Along with all the songs my mother used to sing to me as a child, there are two songs that I used to sing to my children as babies, and still do if they’ll stop laughing long enough to actually hear that I CAN sing. Both songs came from adverts that used to play on TV some years ago. One of them is also a song I used to hear my sister sing to her sons, and the words have always tugged at my heart. Anyway point is, today I was humming these songs in my head and I realized that I don’t actually know all the words, so I thought I’d Google the lyrics so I can sing in my head, in my perfect singing voice which I love so much, where there is nobody to laugh at me. So those words which tugged at my heart.. WRONG words.

The first song is a Minnie Riperton song, called Loving You. It was the track on that cute Wimpy advert where this little boy just loved his doggy so much that he snuck him a bit of boerewors after his breakfast at Wimpy, remember it? Clearly Wimpy didn’t listen to the lyrics of this song either, when they chose it for a cute ad about a boy and his dog…

Lovin’ you is easy cause you’re beautiful.
Makin’ love with you is all I want to do.
Lovin’ you is more than just a dream come true.
And everything that I do,is out of lovin’ you

la-la-la-la-la,la-la-la-la-la.
la-la-la-la-la-la-la.And doot-doot.dootin.doot-do.
[haaaaaaah]

No one else can make me feel the colors that you bring,
Stay with me while we grow old,
and we will live each day in the spring time.

Cos lovin’ you has made my life so beautiful.
And everyday of my life, is filled with lovin’ you.
Lovin’ you I see your soul come shinin’ through.
And everytime that we [uuuuhhhhhhh].
I’m more in love with you.

la-la-la-la-la,la-la-la-la-la.
la-la-la-la-la-la-la.And doot-doot.dootin.doot-do.

Here I am singing a song about making love and doing the ooooooh – to my babies! It’s still a beautiful song, and now I’m thinking of rhyming words to replace the BEEP words, in order to make it PG so I can continue to sing it to my kids and my husband. LOUD. I love this song.

The other song was on either a Rama advert or a Koo Baked Beans ad – my sister and I have been wracking our brains trying to remember! It’s You Do Something to Me, not sure who did the original but it’s been done over and over again. My favourite version is by Frank Sinatra. I should have guessed that ‘ol Blue Eyes wouldn’t be singing lullabies but rather something a little more risqué. The words aren’t actually that “bad” for kids, but it’s clear he isn’t talking about his darling little offspring.

You do something to me
Something that simply mystifies me
Tell me, why should it be
You have the power to hypnotize me?

Let me live ‘neath your spell
Do do that voodoo that you do so well
‘Cause you do something to me
That nobody else could do

You do something to me
Something that simply mystifies me
Tell me, why should it be
You got the power to hypnotize me?

Let me live ‘neath your spell
Do do that voodoo that you do so well
‘Cause you do something to me
That nobody else can do
That no one else in the world can do

I love this song and I don’t need to change a word in order for it to ring true for my children. I am totally at their mercy, like a puppet on a string, I’d do anything for them, as they do something to my heart that I can’t often comprehend. I think it’s called love.

If anything, take a listen to these two classics, and sing the correct words to your loved ones – babies and husbands – tonight. You can thank me later. Xxx

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “If music be the food of love, play on…”

  1. Wakakakaka!!! Funny! At least i didn’t sing Loving You to my kids!!! But I love that song… the tune, the rhyme, the feeling…. think I’ll sing it to Big Daddy tonight! Wink, wink! But the other song – its my favourite for my boys!!!

Leave a Reply

