On the 5th day of Gratuity


I enjoyed reading everyone’s Gratitude Journals last month. The older I get, the more I realise how important it is to be grateful. It keeps us humble and cognisant of the fact that even though we have problems and trials to face every day, there is but still a blessing – even if it’s just in waking up with air in your lungs every day. I also like to count my blessings because it detracts from all the other things I think I so desperately need and want. Nothing like a bit of perspective to keep you grounded hey.

I’m going to jot down as many gratuities as the day of the month. Today is the 5th December, so I’ll start my list with 5 things… and so on. So on the 25th December, you’ll need more than a minute to get through my list!

So in no order of importance…

  1. Grateful to be alive. This morning we heard of the death of my sister’s husband’s cousin who was involved in a car accident. A young man who leaves behind a young wife and a brand new baby.
  2. Grateful to know the Lord. Seriously, without Jesus I don’t know where I would be.
  3. Grateful for my husband. Yes I am grateful that I have someone to share the load with, someone to share life with. Someone who makes me feel like a million bucks. Someone to fight with and makeup with.
  4. Grateful for my children. Liam’s school report was really good. But I’m not grateful for his good report, I’m grateful that Liam is doing well, is well adjusted, has an opportunity to go to a good school where his mind and body are exercised and he has a chance to reach his full potential. Hannah is healthy, she is growing well, more than anything she brings me so much joy. She is perfect for me. My heart is grateful for these two bodies who fill my life with an indescribable sort of contentment – even when I’m mad at them, I’m still so content.
  5. Grateful for my job. Firstly because it gives me a place to go everyday where I can be away from my children. Yes I said it. Secondly and more importantly because it means I am able to draw an income to pay for the things which my family needs, it means we get to live in a house with a roof, eat a cooked meal everyday and pay for a car to take us where we need to go. Without our jobs, none of this would be possible.

What are you grateful for today? Make a quick mental list, you’d be surprised at how long it is 🙂  xxx

Leave a Reply

