Today is a good day!


Today my oldest brother, my sister in law and their 4 kids arrive from Australia. I haven’t seen them since my wedding six years ago and I am so excited to see them that I hope I don’t cry like a big baby at OR Tambo this afternoon. My niece is already 21 years old, she is an adult, we can talk about big people’s things! My two nephews are closer to 20 than they are to 13, they are no longer the little tweens they were the last time we met. And Matthew is six years old  so the last time I saw him, he was a little speck of a baby ! I.CANNOT.WAIT!

 Time and distance truly does make the heart grow fonder. And while Skype and Facebook are such great tools for keeping in touch with your loved ones, nothing beats the human touch, right? Nothing beats being together, sharing food together (we love to eat) and trying to catch 6 years up in one evening. I think it’s going to be loud and messy and I am really looking forward to it. More so, because Liam and Hannah have not met this part of the family at all. I am excited to see how they react to their long lost cousins, uncle and aunt.

We thank God for times of togetherness. I thank God for family bonds and the joy that comes from sharing our lives with people we love. I have to run, I need to work on our “Welcome Home” posters for the airport this afternoon 🙂

 Xxx

5 thoughts on “Today is a good day!”

  1. Enjoy!!! We also have “family” from Australia that just landed this morning. She should be here any moment now. ONline friend of my mom, turned loving Aunt for all of us. She comes once a year for 2/3 months. Can’t wait to see her. Enjoy your visit!

  2. Living in different countries are hard and reunions are the best! I haven’t been to SA since 2008. This post is making me miss my family and friends. Wishing you and your family happy times and lasting memories together!

Leave a Reply

