With Love from the Richen’s


Ok seriously, how much money are you spending on kiddies birthday presents? Now I am a firm believer in gift giving. Firstly because I love receiving gifts myself, but secondly because everyone deserves to be spoilt on that one special day that celebrates their lives and the wonderful and unique value they place in YOUR life. I especially like to carry this through with my female friends and with the children in our circle  – because us girls and kids like to be made a fuss over right?

Anyway, point is… recently I have discovered that gift giving is becoming outrageously expensive. And this has got nothing to do with my gift choices, but rather with the number of birthday parties my kids are being invited too. And yes, the rational answer would be to decline the invitation and solve the problem, but with Liam having schooled with his peers for almost three years he is pretty good friends with most of the children and when we get invited, we actually really do want to attend. This said, we are on about party number 10 so far this year – school friends and home friends. That’s 10 kids presents. In between we have had birthdays of many family members and good friends and that equals  a lot more presents. When you add that all up, that’s a lot of money being spent on gifts, right?

Also, unless you are buying at the Chinese Market (and yes, if I see something really nice there, I WILL buy your gift from China Mall), getting something “nice” doesn’t come cheap. My gift of choice for children is books, and I do have my little secret spot which has great titles for great prices, but it still adds up. Add gift wrap or a gift bag and a card/tag and you really are forking out quite a bit for each birthday you celebrate!

So my questions are:

How much are you spending on gifts for your children’s friends?

Do you have any great gift ideas which don’t break the bank – for kids or adults?

Do you give gifts to everyone in your immediate circle celebrating a birthday?

Mother’s Day is coming up and someone on Twitter (can’t remember who now) had this awesome idea to buy a pot plant in a plain holder (or buy the holder and plant a plant yourself) and get your kids to paint and decorate them. I loved this idea for Granny’s gift from Liam and Hannah, she will love them. This is a thoughtful handmade gift which totally won’t break the bank. I am not much of a crafter but I think this is something I could manage! Also while grannies love handmade things from their grandchildren, your average 4 year old would not freak out in excitement at a handmade pot plant from their classmate, now would they?

Seriously, with the cost of living on the up and up, the last thing I have space for in the already bursting budget is presents, I’m just not sure how handshakes or hugs would go down as the gift of choice?

handshake

4 thoughts on “With Love from the Richen’s”

  1. I’ve been wrapping gifts in tissue paper. Even if you buy from Mr Price it’s R10 for 4 sheets. They are really pretty and if you buy plain ones it’s cheaper and then dolly up with a ribbon. If you buy a whole roll of ribbon it will work out cheaper! 🙂

  2. China Town is my friend too! And Merripak. I think you have a Westpack in Jhb?
    I spend very little on gifts. I mostly buy books – usually a lot of books at a time when there’s a sale somewhere and so that I can just grab one (or two) at any time to wrap. I bought a big roll of brown paper at Merripak for R30 about 6 months ago. Everyone gets their gifts wrapped with that – that roll will last me for at least a year. I spruce it up with washi tape or ribbon – also bought at Merripak. I also bought a pack of cards at Merripak. It’s R28 or so for about 100 plain cards that you can personalise. This will also last for at least a year. Probably longer. I haven’t spent any money on gifts for ages because I have the stuff that I need – this helps A LOT. We don’t buy for any adults unless we are super close to them.

  3. We keep all the gift bags that we get in a cupboard and then reuse them when we go to parties – that saves like R30 bucks right there. Then for the rest I try and find something unique that is quite inexpensive and stock up early in the year (and by this I mean I have done it once). Then whenever there’s a birthday party we just go into the cupboard and find something appropriate.
    Also our kids get a lot of gifts, sometimes doubles of things. This all goes into the cupboard. Thankfully they’re too young to really notice yet. 🙂

  4. I atock up on gifts when I see something nice – have actually dine a blogpost on it. The I made doodle cards which I print on plain white cardboard and the kids colour in. I re use gift bags or I use ordinary cheap wrapping paper – I buy big rolls at Game. Or brown paper.

Leave a Reply

