Tick Tock Tick Tock….


With the weeks and weekends equally speeding by, it’s difficult to keep up with what’s going on sometimes.  I have a monthly calendar which I usually stick up on the fridge so that everyone in the house knows what is going on for the month  but for whatever reason, April’s calendar never made it out of My Documents on my laptop, so I’ve been sending meeting requests to the husband and telling Zoleka verbally what the plan is. Very bad. I’ve realised it leaves us all feeling a bit vulnerable when we can’t see what the week or weekend holds. Already, I’ve dropped the ball but thankfully the dear school administrator picked it up for me. Vaccinations are on Monday at school and I haven’t completed the consent form and heaven knows where their clinic cards are so I’ve tied a ribbon on my finger, punched it into my Outlook and Google calendar and hopefully I’ll pitch up with clinic cards, consent forms AND children on Monday morning.

And it’s not because we are sooooo busy either. Yes, we are pretty busy, our weekends of lazing around and doing nothing are few and far between, but I do try to structure them so that we do have downtime at home on at least one of the days of the weekend, and even our activities are usually with friends in a chilled environment. My problem is that time just seems to go so quickly!

I wonder if it happens this way as you get older? I mean 24 hours will always be 24 hours. The days aren’t getting any shorter (although it feels like it with the sun setting earlier these days). An hour is still an hour and contrary to popular SA lingo, “see you in a minute” actually still means see you in 60 seconds. But I can’t help but feel that as I get older, time seems to be getting shorter. I am constantly aware of how much I still need to do, I hardly ever feel like I am “on top of things” and I can’t tell you the number of times I wake up in a panic in the middle of the night, remembering something I was supposed to do either at work or for the kids. I am not disorganised either – so I don’t feel this way because I am one of those organised-chaos kinda people. So what is it exactly?

Guys, even when I sit and do nothing – I can’t believe how fast time goes! I remember being a kid and waiting oh so anxiously for a birthday to come around, or the school term to come to an end or for my play date to arrive – I feel like I spent a lot of my childhood just yearning for time to hurry up! And now, here I am, desperate for time to just stand still.

Ok seriously, tell me it isn’t just me? Do you feel like time is somehow becoming shorter as you get older? I mean I know time flies when you’re having fun but believe me, things aren’t thaaaaat much fun around here.

2 thoughts on “Tick Tock Tick Tock….”

Leave a Reply

