Not how I imagined my sick day at all.


So I never get sick. I like to tell people (and I’ve probably written it here too) that I have the immune system of an ox – strong, sturdy and impenetrable. I can’t remember the last time I took a sick day, or the last time I went to a doctor for myself. So on Sunday when I woke up with a scratchy throat my first thought was please let this last into Monday so I can take a legitimate sick day. Anyway I came to work on Monday because I didn’t feel that ill, and besides taking a sick day on a Monday just doesn’t look good. Yesterday I decided that I was ill enough to call in sick BUT so were my kids. Choosing to keep them home on the same day that I was calling in sick was a silly silly rookie error on my part.

Firstly, they thought it was bloody marvelous that we were to spend the school day at home together. So spritely did they appear, that I wondered if they were faking their illness just to stay home? But you can’t fake snot, now can you? When Zoleka came into the house and I heard HER cough, I sent her back to bed with a saucer full of meds. So it was just the kids and I. Sigh. The first demand came in at 7h02am for cereal. Followed by yoghurt and then juice and ALL accompanied with various degrees of annoying whining. Then it was medicine time… yipppeee! My kids love medicine, even the yucky ones, I mean have you seen a baby who takes Vidaylin without pulling a face? Well I have two of them in my house. After all that medication, I was hoping that they would nap for about three hours. Nope. After the admin of getting dressed (we had to because Hannah spilt milk down the front of her pjs, sighhh) and brushing teeth, I had two beady pairs of eyes staring up at me with the excited anticipation of what was coming next. Nap? Nope again. So we played with Hannah’s birthday presents which were unwrapped but still unopened because I have a strict rule about new toys (especially expensive ones) – we all play together so that I can explain how it works, and then you can play it correctly without fear of breaking it because you don’t know what the heck you are doing. So we played, then we read. Then it was snack time. So I juiced 12 oranges which made about a litre of fresh orange juice – nothing like a Vitamin C shooter to ward off the flu germs. I love my food processor, fresh orange juice in 5 minutes. They sat on the verandah with their orange juice and biscuits while I watered my flowers. Back inside, they wanted to draw and I wanted to sleep. I opted to clean out the old and broken toys instead. WHY I do this to myself is beyond me. But I cleaned up good – threw out a big bag of junk and put everything back in its place and found forgotten toys which brought much joy and elation to the non-sleeping two. Like seriously, I thought medication is supposed to induce sleep? My medication was making me feel drowsy, how come it wasn’t working for them? We watched a movie – Cat in the Hat for the thousandth time, and because I couldn’t sleep through their shreaks of delight at the same scenes that they’ve seen a thousand times, I went to make lunch and start prepping for supper.

food pro

We had butternut soup and rolls for lunch. When I say “we” I mean Liam and I. Hannah turned her nose up at the yellow goo in her plate and opted for slices of cucumber, tomato and cheese instead. Sighhhh, some days I feel like I run a restaurant with all the different menu options I whip out of my hat. But their stomachs were still grumble-y. For what? I asked. For a treat! They replied. So yes there may have been chocolate and chips for dessert, ok.

I made butternut fritters, pork chops (boerewors for the kids because they don’t like pork), savoury rice, roast potatoes and steamed mix veg in white sauce for supper and by that time it was bath time (still no nap for anyone – even after lunch time meds). The kids pottered around me while I cooked and helped me stack the dishwasher – their new favourite thing to do and then we filled the bath up and had a long leisurely bath while we had competitions to see who’s cough was the “baddest” (can’t get Liam to stop saying this word!). Liam won. And then Daddy came home and he was like “and how was your relaxing sick day off?” Sighhhhhh.

I do feel better today, but I think this is because I am happily back at my desk and not at home keeping up with the “sick” kids. Or maybe it’s the Hot Toddy, ACC 200 and Flutex which my husband has been forcing down my throat? I still want a sick day where I just stay in my pyjamas all day and drowsily flick through mindless day time TV in between long naps. Next time, I won’t coincide my illness with that of my children’s.

meds

3 thoughts on “Not how I imagined my sick day at all.”

  1. Looks like you got all the stalwarts for self medication! Next time you’re on sick leave let me know so I can come for dinner – I dont even cook like that when I’m well!! Another great post Robyn.

  2. I should have left Courtney by you for the day….she’s sick AGAIN. Hope you all get better soon!

  3. It’s scary how alike we are……. I’m same as you. The only time I’ve taken sick days are for operations (now those I’ve had plenty because of the infertility stuff). However, I have had a stomach flu – don’t recommend those.

    I’m also waiting for a sick day where I can be at home ALONE (or maybe S tidying up the house around me) reading and faffing around 🙂 I might need one of those sooner than later as this current situation is not good for my stress levels and I usually react under stress.

    Still, glad you’re well and back at work! (at least you can have a hot cup of tea in peace!)

Leave a Reply

