Get freak-out happy.


On Sunday we went to the Oyster, Wine and Food Festival at Brightwater Commons. While I don’t enjoy oysters and didn’t taste any wine, I do like the vibe that this outdoor event offers. We went last year and had a good time and this year was equally fun. But this post isn’t about that.

While we were there, I forked out R60… SIXTY SOUTH AFRICAN RONDS for the kids to play for HALF AN HOUR in this park full of inflatable THINGS – like jumping castles, an obstacle course inflatable thingy, the inflatable with the climbing rope and so on. At first I was annoyed, as I counted the many other things I could have done with that R60, I thought it was a bit of a rip off to be honest, and one of those MANY things I felt coerced into because of the big puppy-dog eyed looks I got from my two children who do NOT have me wrapped around their little fingers.

But then I saw this…

Randburg-20130602-00855

 

And this….

Randburg-20130602-00859

 

And this…

Randburg-20130602-00851

And look at this…

Randburg-20130602-00861

And let me tell you, I would pay R60 twice or even thrice over to see that pure and unadulterated pleasure in the faces of my children again. There are many things we love to say about children – how innocent they are, how precocious they can be, how lovable they are, how easily they forgive, and the list goes on. But one of my most favourite things about children is the freak-out JOY they find in the simplest of things. And this is something I aspire too. This is something I yearn for, pray for and deeply desire – to learn to once again find incredible joy in the simple pleasures of life. I mean think about your kids or kids you know for a minute… My kids get giddy and jump up and down on the spot when I let them stir their own Milo and allow them drink with the fun twirly-whirly straws. Pouring their own bubblebath under the gushing hot water tap is like a freak-out-fest, lots of yelling and high-fiving, I tell you. They lose their minds when I say we’re going to read four instead of five books before bedtime (of course I make this call based on how long the story actually is but they don’t need to know that). And of course, as depicted in my photos, the joy of being able to run, jump, bounce and just run wildly in their little perfect worlds. The simple pleasures of just BEING.

When last did something as simple and meaningless as a hot cup of Milo, possibly with a handful of mini marshmallows, make you lose your mind? When last did you allow yourself to squeal with delight when you slipped your feet into your bedroom slippers after a hard day at the office? Because those things make you happy right? But we forget. We get so wrapped up in life and bills that need to be paid and children that need to be cared for, and deadlines that need to be met, that we forget about celebrating every good moment, as little as they are, like little kids do. I guarantee that you will experience at least five things today that should make you *squeeeeee* with childlike joy. Look out for them, and cherish them and for goodness sake, don’t be afraid to freak out when you feel that way. People will only stare because they’re jealous.

My current freak-out-with-joy list:

  1. Learning all the lyrics to the Jungle Book songs because HALLELUJAH it’s been chosen as the theme for this year’s concert at school! No seriously, I LOVE Jungle Book and the music is really upbeat and catchy, our favourite is “…. ohhh oobee doo, I wanna be like youuuuu, I wanna walk like you, talk like you, too…” *SQUEEEEEEEE* 
  2. Eating all my Parisian chocolate and macaroons which I was gifted with from my work peeps who have just returned from a trip I coordinated. I must have done a good job because I got SPOILT. *SQUEEEEEEEEEEEEEE*
  3. Started jogging last night (that’s a blog post all on its own) and while it was tough and I think I possibly hated it from beginning to end, I actually can’t wait to get back on the road. And its alone time with hubby.. *SQUEEEEEEEEE!*
  4. Going down the coast for our extra long weekend next week and spending time with my family *SQUEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE*

Watch this video, it will get you into the *squeeeeeeee* of things! Love how Baloo loves the beat! The kids lost their minds when I Youtubed the video for them!

3 thoughts on “Get freak-out happy.”

  1. Oh gosh, I adore Jungle Book! My all time favorite cartoon movie, and right in my top 10 ever movie list! Enjoy!

    Oh and I adore your post – so very true – we need to enjoy more. Live more. Laugh more.

    On that note, you should have seen the utter joy in my daughter’s eyes when she palyed 3and a half matches for the boys’ hockey team on Saturday (and 4 for the girls team). She was asked to fill in and did she enjoy beating boys!

  2. The Jungle Book video was an instant smile maker! You cant help bopping to the beat too! why do we let adult life make us so boring and ungrateful? having Kam and Eli is also teaching me to see the wonder in small things in life.

  3. I’ve many weaknesses but I do take extreme joy in the small things. And I squeal out loud, “OHHHHHHHHH MAANNNNNN look at that gorgeous LIGHT” (for instance). They all think I’m crazy of course (these introverts) but gosh, life is wonderful when you look for the good.

    On another note, I’m going to invite you to Bambanani – I want to squeeze those little cheeks (the kids’ ones :))

Leave a Reply

