4 Minute Cheesecake, Anyone?


Well I am happy to report that the 4 minute cheesecake was a success! This is going to be my new go-to dessert for many reasons:

  1. While it takes a bit longer than 4 minutes (making the base will take you about 2 minutes extra and then it does need time to set in the fridge), it is by far the simplest and quickest dessert I have ever made.
  2. It is so versatile, so depending on your mood and palette, you can turn it into whatever you’re wishing for on that particular day.
  3. It’s a really cool recipe to get the kids involved in. I don’t know about you, but when my kids want to “help” me in the kitchen, I make sure there’s something simple and tidy on the menu. Here’s a free tip for you when cooking with children: Do NOT ever attempt a recipe that includes separating eggs (whites from yellows) or “gently folding” something into the mixture. Kids cannot separate eggs no matter what fancy apparatus you are using and they have no concept of “gently folding” anything, so your efforts will flop, I assure you. I digress. This recipe is simple enough for kids to make, AND it’s quick enough to hold their attention. Believe me, I’ve been Supermom who tries the fancy stuff with the kids, only to have them bored and whining on step 4 of 15 in the method section of the recipe. You’re then left to complete the process AND clean up the kitchen alone. The winner-winner-chicken-dinner prize with kids in the kitchen is to do something which is fun and quick and to include them in the cleaning up process before the whining starts. It’s a fine art, I tell you.

Anyway this recipe is all of the above.

Ingredients:

  1. 1 packet of Tennis biscuits
  2. 1 litre of yoghurt in your desired flavor
  3. 1 tin of condensed milk

Method:

  1. Crush the biscuits and mix with softened butter to create the base.
  2. Mix the condensed milk and yoghurt together and microwave for 4 minutes.
  3. Pour the mixture on top of the biscuit base and allow to set in the fridge.

Tadaaaaa!

As I said, you can adapt this recipe in a million ways. Add lemon zest and a dash of lemon juice with plain or vanilla yoghurt for a lemony tart. Or use strawberry yoghurt, blitz a few strawberries in a blender and add to the mixture and throw a few strawberries on top to complete the look. Use chocolate chip yoghurt, a chocolate-y biscuit base and decorate with shaved chocolate. I mean the possibilities are ENDLESS. What I found is the longer you leave it to set in the fridge, the stiffer it becomes. However time is not always on your side especially when you’re being crazy spontaneous and invite people around last minute. However, we made ours just before dinner and served it as dessert – so it didn’t spend that much time in the fridge, yet it was still delicious and edible, perhaps I’d call it a fridge tart rather than cheesecake depending on how long you give it to set 🙂

From my messy kitchen to yours, enjoy!

22 thoughts on “4 Minute Cheesecake, Anyone?”

  1. lovely recipe, but just need to know on what temperature you cook the yoghurt & condensed milk in the micro for 4 minutes?

  2. I used 125 grams butter in the base. I also did not precooked the “cheese” mixture. I poured onto chilled base and THEN microwaved for 4 minutes.

  3. I saw this recipe on a facebook thread- lots of commenters said to only use 500g of yoghurt. don’t do it! This was as rich as a caramel slice (almost!). WIll definitely make again and use a 1L- as you have said!)- of plain greek yoghurt with no sweetener! And maybe some lemon zest. Really terrfic texture otherwise, and my version was still nice when semi frozen and eaten with fresh fruit.

  4. I made this over the weekend I used 2 packets of Honey Graham biscuits to make a thick base with 250gms of butter so It wasn’t too buttery and still had a crumbly texture then chilled the base in the freezer , I then mixed 1 tin of condensed milk and 1 litre of Mango yoghurt stirred well then microwaved for 5 mins then poured over the base and left in the freezer overnight. It turned out fantastic, I transported this to work where all my team enjoyed the cheesecake, this made at least 12 decent servings.Very easy dish to make and am going to try different toppings . Thanks for the heads up on a fantastic and easy to do recipe.

  5. Hey i have just made this. I microwaved the yohgurt and condenced milk together…. It looks almost like its curtled but it isnt? Did 4 mins and just wanna make sure i aint the only one whose looked like that

  6. I made this, for a birthday party,I left it in the fridge for at least 24 hours, it tasted ok but did not set,very disappointed

    1. I added a teaspoon of plain gelatine to the mixture before microwaving it. Then stir gently and turn into prepared tart tin. Refrigerate …. Cuts ‘beautifully!’
      This evening I added thinly sliced guava and mango to the top:)

  7. made this recipe three times now with a base no butter, with a butter base, and with no base sliced and placed on lattice biscuits , the taste and texture is there and it sets but the amount of liquid that comes out of the yoghurt ruins it every.time, making the bases wet .. still trying to figure out a solution .

Leave a Reply

