No words.


Hello you guys

It’s been a busy few days… at work and at home. Yesterday we left the house at 06h15am and only returned from our activities at 6pm. I’m planning quite a big event at work for this week, so I’ve been having heart palpitations about that. I look forward to this week being over. Crazy like that.

 Last night I heard that an ex colleague of mine had lost her 3 year old daughter to drowning this weekend. Now that we don’t work together anymore, she and I only have minimal Facebook contact, and I saw her last at the Huggies event we attended a few weeks back. So we are not close as such, but I am so devastated for her. I’ve had this sick-to-the-pit-of-my-stomach feeling since I heard the news last night. We were pregnant together, her daughter was two months younger than Hannah. I can’t get her off my mind. I keep thinking about her little girl who was the same age as my Hannah, I think about how cute Hannah is, how I love this age where she is all hugs and kisses and how she loves to love us and I can’t help thinking about how I would feel if I didn’t have that anymore. If my Hannah was no more? It turns my stomach.

I feel so very sorry for this mother who has lost her baby girl so tragically. I’m once again jarred into the reality that this life is but a fleeting whisper and only part of the journey, not the destination. That there are no guarantees regardless of how careful, how safe, how holy you are. Your life is but a whisper. It’s so hard to take cognizance of each moment when life is so busy and we’re all just trying to make it through a day of traffic, work, demanding bosses and whiny kids, but today I am grateful that I am alive. That I woke up to my two children who were also alive, breathing, whole. I am thankful that I get to squeeze them TODAY, that I have THIS moment with them. There are simply no words. None. It’s just horribly tragic.

Please lift this family up in prayer.

xxx

8 thoughts on “No words.”

    1. Margot, I don’t know if it’s because I knew her or if it’s because my own child is the same age or simply because I’m a mother but I just feel SICK SICK SICK by this horrible tragedy. Also close to home for you guys being in school together! So very sad..

  1. About a year ago, a friend of a friend’s child choked to death. I was devastated as he was the same age as my son. It still freaks me out when i think about it. Heartbreaking!

Leave a Reply

