Become what you believe.


That title is a Bible verse: Matthew 9:29, The Message Bible

Don’t you just love that?

I had my mid year review earlier this week. It went really well and I was happy and relieved with the positive feedback I received. I’ve said it before that one of my love languages is positive validation. I love to be told how wonderful I am. Ha. The problem with my job is that I am literally here to assist one person, and if you and that person don’t hit it off, let’s just say that your working day could be somewhat unpleasant. Currently my boss is an American, I say currently, because they change pretty often. In the four years I have been here, I’ve had three bosses. So I’ve worked with my current boss for the last seven months, I like him. And now I’ve discovered that he likes me, so that’s all dandy. Great.

Anyway, this post isn’t about how awesome I am. The significance of this review was that it was the first time that I verbalised my desire to work half day from 2015. Well, I’ve verbalised it a lot to my friends and family and anyone that would listen, but I’ve never actually approached the subject with my boss. I also wanted it to be noted and filed so that when the time comes, I won’t be greeted with surprised raised eyebrows. He took the news pretty well, probably because he won’t be my boss when the time comes. But as I said, I want it noted on my personal file.

My dream is to work half day – whether here (first prize) or somewhere else (if they don’t go for it).

There I’ve said it. I’ve spoken it into the universe. I’ve spoken it into being!

I want to be able to drop and fetch my children from school. I want to be able to go for an ice cream on the way home, and help them with their homework while I prepare dinner. I want to be able to sit down and talk about stuff, and not squeeze catching up between bathing and feeding, while trying to find matching socks and a toothbrush that’s gone AWOL. I don’t want to be a rat in the rat race.

I don’t believe it is impossible. My husband doesn’t believe it is impossible. We agree that our first priority is doing the best we can for our children. And I am not saying that mothers who work full time are not doing the best they can for their children. In fact, I think I’m a better parent BECAUSE I work and get to spend a few hours in a corporate environment away from my children. But with our lifestyle, I simply feel that I need to be THERE as much as I can. I don’t want my kids to be latchkey kids. I don’t have the support of a grandparent or an aunt or uncle to help in the afternoons to fill the gap when I am not there. I don’t have someone who is truly invested in my kids to make sure they are doing their homework and helping them with their weak areas and giving them one-on-one attention. I’d have to pay someone to do that, probably in a group of other children – I’d rather save on aftercare and transport and do it myself.

We’ve recently had to make some tough decisions for the good of our family, things I’ll blog about soon. Sacrificing now, for the good of the future. And of course we would probably have to make some lifestyle changes if I was to move from a full time to a half time salary, but I’ve seen so many people pick up “things on the side” to fill the gap. Guys, there are people out there living the dream – their dream – because they believed they could make it work. There are many things I’d like to “do on the side” – things that, if they work, could generate a little income. Things that I would have time for if I wasn’t a rat in the rat race.

Point is, nothing is impossible. This is my dream. This is where I am headed. As my good friend always says, speak your dreams into reality! I am believing and trusting God for this to become a reality. And I’m praying in faith that this is where God wants me to be too. Jesus said “according to your faith let it be done to you.” In other words, become what you believe.

 

7 thoughts on “Become what you believe.”

  1. I LOVE this post. I was thinking the VERY SAME thing for the whole month of July. But I’ve never verbalised it. I think I’m going to take your advice and start putting it out there. My “baby” is going to BIG school next year and I want to make sure his education starts off correctly. Thank you so much for putting it out there.

    1. Good Golly, I’m glad you found me! Just read through your blog and everyone who knows me, knows I’m always on a budget! I’ve added you to my Reader! Nice to meet you xxx

  2. Good stuff Robs! Call those things that are not as though they were, and with faith, believing, God will bring it to pass! Xxxx

Leave a Reply

