Totally easy apple pie.


On Sunday I was wishing for something homemade, warm and sweet. Once I had decided on apple pie, I Googled a few recipes and decided on the Robertsons one purely because it said I could buy the ready rolled puff pastry. That was it. I was sold. The filling was really good, however the Husband found it a bit too tart. Perhaps the Granny Smith’s needed to be cooked down a bit more? Perhaps I had chosen a very big lemon for the “juice of one lemon?” I personally liked that it wasn’t overly sweet, but if your tooth is particularly sweet, I’d suggest you up the sugar and down the lemon in this recipe.

Also, for the size of my regular round dish, I didn’t need the two full rolls of pastry and I only used ¾ ‘s of the bag of apples. I made it while the Husband took the kids for a walk around the neighbourhood – so the process time is really quick and I read a few chapters of my book while it baked in the oven. Easy peasy. You are welcome.

Ingredients

  • 2 Ready Rolled Puff Pastry
  • Filling:
  • 1.5 kg Granny Smith Apples
  • 125 ml Water
  • 125 ml Castor Sugar
  • 5 ml Lemon Rind grated
  • 5 ml Robertsons Ground Cinnamon
  • 2.5 ml Robertsons Mixed Spice
  • 80 g Brick Margarine
  • Juice of one lemon

Instructions

  1. Melt the margarine in a saucepan, add castor sugar, water, lemon rind, juice of one lemon, cinnamon, mixed spice and stir
  2. Cut up the apples and add to the pan, tossing them to allow the mixture to caramelise
  3. Meanwhile, roll out your pastry and cut to fit your pie dish leaving a generous overhang for both the base and the top
  4. Save the offcuts for decoration
  5. Spoon apples into pastry base with the caramelised mixture
  6. Place pastry lid on the pie and twist closed to seal the edges
  7. Make three steam holes with a knife to allow steam to escape
  8. Decorate with pastry offcuts
  9. Brush with egg wash
  10. Bake at 180°C for 40 minutes until pastry is golden

apple pie

2 thoughts on “Totally easy apple pie.”

Leave a Reply

