The flop proof basic butter biscuit recipe that I love


I have had so many requests for my biscuit recipe, that I thought I would just post it here for everyone to see. It is so basic, so quick and easy that you could get the kids to make their own batch if you had the time and the inclination.

Also, you can add anything you want to this recipe to make all sorts of variations… nuts, raisins, choc chips, coconut – whatever tickles your fancy. I don’t even use my food processor for this recipe, it’s more of a throw in a bowl, and mix with the spoon kinda recipe. Love it.

Ingredients:

  • 250g butter, softened
  • 140g caster sugar
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 300g plain flour
  1. Heat oven to 180 degrees.
  2. Mix the softened butter with the castor sugar using a wooden spoon
  3. Add egg yolk and vanilla extract and continue to mix.
  4. Sift over plain flour and stir until the mixture is well combined.
  5. Press the dough onto a well floured surface and press out your biscuit shapes.
  6. Place onto a greased baking tray and bake for 12 minutes.

Once I notice the edges starting to turn brown, I take them out of the oven – this is usually just on either side of 12 minutes depending on the thickness of the biscuit. Place your baked biscuits on a cooling rack to harden. Serve with a chilled glass of milk and hide the cookie jar. I swear, you will keep coming back to have another if you do not hide the cookie jar or at least put it in a hard to reach place. They are just that good.

Carla, you can stop nagging me. Please tell me how your biscuits come out 🙂

cookies cooked

 

2 thoughts on “The flop proof basic butter biscuit recipe that I love”

  1. Oh wow!!! Just finished making these biscuits and I think I have finished the first batch of cookies by my self. Thanks so much for this recipe, it will definitely be featuring in girls baking day with my five year old little girl.

Leave a Reply

