Here we are. Again.


I actually cannot grasp the fact that the end of the year is upon us. The school year is just about over, we still have the annual concert to attend on Friday, and a week of “holiday programme” to get through next week. But once you get the report cards, you can pretty much call it quits on the school year.

So the report cards.

You’ll remember this post where I expressed concern over Liam’s midyear report. Well I am so proud to say that Liam had an excellent report. He scored a full set of number 1’s across all categories, save one, where he got a number 2 for something. I can’t even remember what it was for, who cares, I don’t when the rest of the report was fantastic. The teacher’s comments were beautiful, truly beautiful and I choked up a bit when I read how well loved my son is. We all want that for our kids, don’t we? It’s not a vanity or an arrogance thing, it’s a parent’s deep desire that their children be well liked wherever they go… and it’s not because we value the opinion of others, or that we want our children to spend their energies on impressing other people. No. It’s a matter of being a genuinely beautiful person on the inside, who others are naturally drawn to. Not being the most popular, or the prettiest. No. It’s about being nice. Having good manners, having a kind and caring heart, being NICE. I think my Liam is a nice boy.

And Hannah. Our dark horse. So full of surprises. Another fabulous report, wonderful words from her teacher and principal. She came into the class late and is the youngest in the class, yet has made her presence felt. She has blossomed into this most delightful little thing. My friends can still not believe how this child has done a complete 360. Still full of buck and very strong willed, but a very different Hannah to the ma-vas snob she used to be. Yes, she was a cry-baby-snob. You couldn’t even baby talk with Hannah, and she would give you the side eye. And she wouldn’t even sit on grass, HATED grass under her feet! SNOB! If you were not her mother, she didn’t want anything to do with you! Now, I think it’s safe to say she talks more than Liam. To anyone. Will wind down her window to have a conversation with the beggar at the robot, will tell you your fortune on demand – whether you asked for it or not, will dance for money, will most definitely give hugs and kisses for mahala.

I can’t believe Liam is going to Grade R next year. Where have the years gone? Grade R!! This makes me feel both happy and sad. Grade R is for big people, not my little Liam! They’ve been wearing longs to school this week with this weird weather. None of Hannah’s jeans fit her! I only bought them this Winter, yet she has just shot up. Don’t believe me? LOOK!! Can you say ankle fighters! We used to fold these jeans up because they were so long!

Midrand-20131122-01255

It’s just all happening too fast! I have been feeling sooooo broody lately. Like if I could go and buy a baby from the shop, I would. But I think it actually stems from the fact that my own two are growing so fast, I can’t believe we’re here now. And a part of me wishes they could be this small forever. Albeit, a very small part – I mean the baby years where by far the most difficult, but I just wish time could be contained sometimes.

I occasionally let them sleep with me during the week while hubby is away. Just because, you know. And besides being kicked in the ribs all night, and listening to Liam suck on his blasted thumb.. my word it’s like the kid equivalent to being kept awake by snoring, I could watch these two sleep for hours. I mean it’s been almost 5 years and I still can’t believe I am a mother. It’s crazy.

What was my point? Here we are.  Again. The end of another year. It was a hard year. I must blog about 2013 being one of the hardest years in my life. Well other than 2009/2010 which was like the apocalypse  of bad years. But 2013 was a very challenging year, and that we are here, all intact, with good reports nogal, makes me feel so good. I cannot tell you how blessed I feel to be here, in one piece. Thankful and blessed. That’s where I’m at. Where are you at? Where has this year left you?

2 thoughts on “Here we are. Again.”

Leave a Reply

