Planning a party for a 5 year old


Liam turns 5 on the 16  February. I still can’t wrap my head around the fact that I am the mother to a 5 year old. Good heavens, I can remember being 5 years old MYSELF, like I have actual memories of being 5,  and it doesn’t feel that long ago (don’t laugh, I’m not that old). And now I am the boss of a 5 year old? Like I physically gave birth to, and cared for another human being for 5 long years – and he is still thriving? Excuse me while I pat myself on the back.

Although we have celebrated every birthday with a cake, candles and their cousins present, we’ve never really had a party where he has chosen his guests himself. This year he asked for a party and he was also very specific about who we should invite. And I think that’s the point isn’t it? It’s his party and it should be about HIM and he should be surrounded with people HE likes.

I had to curb his enthusiasm when he declared that he wanted to invite his WHOLE class. No ways, I was not prepared to have 18 five year olds running riot in my back yard. We had to come to a very difficult compromise of 6 school friends (only 2 have actually rsvp’d so I need to prepare him for that too). Oh, he battled with this… he didn’t want to offend anyone! I said to him that he should think about who his SPECIAL friends were, the ones he most liked to play with, and eventually we narrowed the list down. He chose his cousins and family friends and asked if his cousins in Australia and Port Shepstone would be able to make it. I said to him that they’d possibly make it for his 21st but probably not for his 5th birthday.

We decided on a pool party simply because it’s what he loves best, and it’s easy to execute – hey you just need a pool! I am NOT a party planning person and it will NOT make the grade for Rattle and Mum Show me the Party. No. There will be a pool, other water toys, sweets, ice cream  and cupcakes. And you may get a boerie roll for lunch. On a paper plate. I thought about planning games and activities, and that’s where that ended. At a thought. Ha. Easiest party planned in the history of party planning!

His one and only request is for a Walkie Talkie thingy for him AND Hannah (bless). Oh and Lego. Lots of Lego. I love this age where they just tell you what they want – SO much easier. We’ve discussed if this is the year he will stop sucking his thumb, but he has been very noncommittal. When he turned 4, he declared that he would stop sucking his thumb. HOORAY! And he was very good about it… until bed time when he reneged on that statement and declared that he’d stop when he turned 5. So no promises on this one, folks.

You can imagine how this birthday and party are the ONLY things we’re allowed to talk about at home. That, and our dog Rocky. I do think that Liam and Rocky will be fast friends. Rocky was even invited to the party. I said that Rocky may frighten some of the younger kids but Liam thinks his friends will get used to and love Rocky like he does (wise words from the kid who was terrified of Rocky when he arrived). I said we’d see how everyone felt on the day. He agreed saying that yes, sometimes people are afraid of dogs and he knows it isn’t a nice feeling because he was afraid before. Clever child, this.

So yes, Liam turns 5. More on how I actually feel about THAT to follow soon.

rocky
Love xxx
Yes, Rocky is in my flower bed.
Yes, Rocky is in my flower bed.

 

 

6 thoughts on “Planning a party for a 5 year old”

  1. oh bless his heart!!! Unfortunately I’m the one who strongly influences the party 🙂 🙂 Although I do let them each choose 2 – 3 kids from each class. There are one or two in common so that works out just fine.

    PS how did we make the cut?

Leave a Reply

