No words.


Things have been quiet around here… not because there hasn’t been anything to write about, quite the contrary. But sometimes you don’t need to talk about everything. Have you seen those DSTV #feeleverymoment ads? I LOVE them, even the corniness of them.

Maybe it’s because my house has been quiet. Kids are enjoying the second week of their holiday with their aunty. We miss them, wow. I thought I’d miss them less… being older and not as needy and all of that.. but nope, I think I miss them more now, than when they would go away when they were younger. But even that’s debatable. Let’s call it even and say a parent misses a child regardless of their age. Being away from your child is not natural…

But it’s been good.

My husband is back, remember. And the timing was perfect. It has been a lovely few days of just us. Ohhhhhhh, it’s so lovely to have him at home. To have someone there to back you up, support you, help you with stuff, cover you with a blanket when you fall asleep on the couch. I am so happy he is home, even though I make like it’s not a big deal. It is a big deal. It’s a huge deal. And I can’t believe we did this for almost 10 months! I am glad that season is over. And I am glad we got through it, long distance is not for everyone, folks.

We’ve had dinners with friends and lunches with extended family and jumped into bed at 7pm just because. It’s been a wonderful time of refreshing.

And I guess that’s why I like those DSTV ads… sometimes you don’t need words, you just sort of soak up the moment for what it is without distorting it with a million words. And that from someone who wants to say ALL the words ALL the time.

5 thoughts on “No words.”

  1. It is not easy to get through long distance. Hubby and I did it for six months before I threw in the towel and moved in with him…changing homes, jobs and lifestyle. I guess with kids you cannot just move, but I hate long distance.
    I always dream of having lone time but I know I will miss my little monster.

  2. I did long distance for a long time before we got married and for almost a whole year after we were married. Definitely not for the faint hearted
    I’m glad he’s back home and you have some time to connect without the kids. Though I’m sure you can’t wait to have them back home

  3. So glad your hubby is back … can’t even imagine how hard it must have been with him being away so much. My hubby keeps getting offers to go away for 6 months or so but we have been putting it off and putting it off. Luckily they have let him refuse for now. Hopefully they won’t force him to go one day …

    I often wish for some alone time … the kids haven’t been away from us for holidays yet. With my brother and his wife living a mere 3km from us now, I think it will happen soon enough though. I’m sure we will miss them … just going out to dinner alone and the conversation turns to them at some point 🙂

Leave a Reply

