We got a waffle maker!


Online shopping is the way of the future. Truly. I hate trying on clothes in a store. I detest it. I also can’t stand returning stuff that doesn’t fit, because I was too lazy to fit it on in the store. I don’t enjoy shopping at all. I prefer to buy something when I see it and I like it and my size is right there in front of my face and I don’t have  , to search through the racks or ask yet another disinterested sales person for help. But don’t ask me to go into a shop with the purpose of buying something specific. Firstly, I am indecisive. Secondly, there is nothing worse than eventually finding something you like, and they don’t have your size. Thirdly, the mall is just not my favourite place: from the parking, to the crowds, to the queues. No thanks.

So for all those reasons, I just love online shopping. The only thing I don’t buy online is our food. And that’s just  because I like to feel my own fruit, and make sure my cans aren’t dented and pick my own block of cheese and shake the fresh cream to make sure it’s OK. You know, stuff like that.

So last week Thursday, after talking about getting a waffle maker for well over a year, I went online and ordered one from Takealot.com. Including delivery, it cost me under R200. But the part I love the best, is that I got it the very next day. How’s that for good service?

Of course, as soon as I got home, I unpacked that baby and whipped up a quick batch. I wasn’t entirely happy with the recipe I had Googgled, I do prefer my waffle to be slightly sweet and this recipe was more pancake-y. But in my search I also came across other deliciousness such as sweet potato waffles, THOSE I will definitely be trying! A nice change to a roast potato or even potato chips on your plate, right? The first waffle was a complete flop, I put too much batter in and it just oozed out and caused a HUGE mess. But I got the hang of it on the next one. Also, I’d totally half the mixture. With pancakes, you can have two or even three. But with waffles, one is usually enough. The mixture I used made 8, so the kids had waffles with jam as a snack the next day.

We had waffles with ice cream and syrup for dinner. I was told about 237 times that I am THE best mother in the WHOLE world.

IMG_20141031_174220

IMG_20141031_174624

7 thoughts on “We got a waffle maker!”

  1. I totally love online shopping – also did you see we are twins with our thinking as I also posted about online shopping yesterday.

    Anyway, after our discussion I told D to order me one (remember I’ve had it on my birthday and Christmas lists FOREVER – literally 12 + years) with his next order and that happened to be today. I think it arrives on Thursday so I may be the best mom in the world on the weekend too. I think the kids will think they’ve died and gone to heaven if I produce waffles….. 🙂

    Thanks for the inspiration!

    PS we all shared that last koeksister the other night – I cut it into tiny portions so we could all have some. That’s called squeezing enjoyment from every last bite!

  2. Ahhhh I saw that deal in the evening on my phone, and when I went online the next morning the special was off, I was sooo disappointed! Lucky you. The waffles look amazing

  3. I LOVE online shopping. It’s super exciting to get THAT delivery. I have never even considered getting a waffle maker (one of my favourite things in life is to GO OUT for waffles) but Lance wants one, so I’m reconsidering. Yours look DIVINE!

  4. I love online shopping! And I love grocery shopping so would never buy groceries online like you. I was skeptical about online shopping locally though for fear of things going missing but last week after Marcia’s post I went on take a lot ordered a few stuff using discovery miles and best of all 2 days later it was delivered to me (score) Added to that I got regular updates in that period telling me where the items were at different points in the 2 days between order and delivery. I have to be disciplined though as it does get addictive and there’s a temptation to suddenly need things you didn’t even want to begin with

Leave a Reply

