Going to the movies. Books. Other stuff.


Firstly, I must tell you about Paddington. I am not one to review movies and books and the like, but this was a special one.

I love Paddington because I’ve known him since I was the age my children are now. But more so, Liam brought Paddington home from the library two weeks ago and we started to read all about the bear from Darkest Peru, so it was great to see the book brought to life. Also, the movie was a really good adaptation of the book (give or take) so the fact that the kids could preempt certain scenes was sort of cool. Well, not for the other people in the cinema, who had to put up with the live narration from the second row. And when there was a scene that didn’t feature in the book, it raised lots of loud questions which I had to answer, of course. All in all, I’d give this movie a 9/10. ย I think Paddington and the Brown’s were perfectly portrayed. I will record this movie when it comes out on Box Office because it’s one of those which my kids could watch a million times over and still enjoy.

Talking about a million times over… do you know my children are STILL watching Frozen? Is this normal? Never before have they been this entranced by a movie. Like they will choose to watch scenes from Frozen in the TV time they get during the week, rather than watch regular Disney Junior or whatever. And by watch, I mean they narrate the movie word by word. They could probably do Frozen on Broadway without scripts because they know all.the.words. Are your kids over Frozen yet?

Talking about books… so Liam gets to bring a book home every week from the school library and so far his choices have been awesome. So I’ll read it to them the first few nights and then Liam reads it to us the rest of the week. But guys, the novelty is wearing off. I like to read a book once, maybe twice. And then we can revisit it in like a few months maybe. Now we have to read the same book all week because he says so. We haven’t touched ANY of our other books since school started. BORED bored boreddddddd. So this week he brought home Enid Blyton’s Noddy. My most favourite childhood author. And it’s a lovely thick story book with chapters that will take us all week to read. It’s gorgeous! And spoiler alert, I never knew the beginnings of Noddy, ย I just thought the story starts with Noddy in Toyland, but no it doesn’t! If you have kids around 4 / 5 / 6, I think they’ll like this book; it’s full of mischief and humour that this age group LOVE. I thought my kids had outgrown Noddy years ago, in fact, Noddy was the theme of Liam’s first birthday party, but I do believe the Noddy bug has bitten.

I’m not reading anything currently. Well, I am reading the Bible-in-a-year and doing a few other Bible plans alongside my lovely Bible Babes and let me tell you, I am behind even in that. It’s like my head hits the pillow and I am instantly comatose. If my husband was reading this, he’d say “you have time for social media but you don’t have time to read, go figure.” So I’ll just leave this topic here.

Exciting things coming up in my near future: Liam turns 6.SIX.SES on Monday. This is generating lots of excitement and dominating all conversation when they aren’t singing Frozen songs.ย Then work conference at Pezula in Knysna in March – you don’t even have to say it, I know you’re jelly. And Cape Town for Easter… well technically for the 2Oceans Marathon but that’s Easter weekend. So there’s enough going on to keep me out of trouble ๐Ÿ™‚

Here’s a photo of Liam’s first Noddy birthday. Can’t believe this was 6 years ago! Also, look at my very preggy belly sticking out there ๐Ÿ™‚ย S7301299

 

 

9 thoughts on “Going to the movies. Books. Other stuff.”

  1. Please get these… Liam will love them! Roald Dahls Fantastic Mr Fox, and George’s Marvellous Medicine. Not too expensive and great keep sakes! Happy reading! Xx

  2. Hi Robyn,

    I was looking for info on Jazzing a few weeks ago just so I could show my husband what its all about. We’re currently taking dance lessons as I too feel its part of our heritage that needs to be preserved and passed on. I stumbled across your blogpost “Is jazzing a coloured thing”. Immediately, I subscribed and I totally enjoy reading every new post as I can so relate!

    I too struggle to read a novel, but have to read multiple bedtime stories for my kids (aged 4 and 1). My daughter Layla is quite sneaky as she says that I have to read one for her brother (which she gets to choose) and another one for her (which is her choice too).

    Frozen is so infectious, I have to role play and be Anna (obviously, Layla is always Elsa) and this year’s birthday theme is definitely going to be Frozen. Why can’t we just “Let it go” already ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Will definitely get Paddington to add to our ever growing animated movie collection. Love your work!

    1. Hey Wardieya! Thanks for your lovely comment! My husband doesn’t dance so we end up doing the REAL coloured thing of two ladies dancing together LOL! thanks for reading!! xxx
      ps: Totally wanting to “let it go” with Frozen already!

  3. The best part about watching movies as a kid is watching it so many times you can recite the words but drive your parents crazy LOL

    I can’t believe Liam was a chubby baby

Leave a Reply

